h1

oooh..spinelli’s just downstairs

October 3, 2006

i’m happy.

spinelli is in the next building, starbucks is a street away, o’brien’s is downstairs, coffeebean, cedele depot, and yes, even McDonald’s – all within walking distance. i needed to go to the bank, and i popped down at 4pm, and was back at 4.30pm. My tailor is three blocks away. my friends are all within a 1km radius.

yes – i have settled into my new office nicely.

ok i’m a ‘sua ku’ can – i spent 2 years working in an industrial estate (ok it wasn’t EXACTLY that, but it sure felt like it), where the only good coffee was possibly 6 bus-stops away (in bugis junction) – ok i concede that some may find the kopi from the food centre better than your ‘atas’ latte and such, but still…it’s the AMBIENCE lah. it felt good to stroll among civilisation (ok lest my boss reads this – i WALK FAST; ‘stroll’ is used here for narrative purposes).

ANYWAY.

it’s my second day and i’m still dipping my feet in the water. i can’t write much – many of the issues i come across are p and c. i’ve been busy writing, framing, spinning and most importantly, learning. though my previous job was also PR-related, my current one takes the cake lah – different league altogether; heck it’s a different GAME altogether even. the companies are larger, the sums are much more substantial (i have trouble recognising a million – try translating huge amounts in mandarin), and the stakes are much higher now.

I feel incredibly blessed to have this opportunity – reading the bios of my colleagues, i feel really inexperienced and well, rather lacking frankly. Still, my team has been really nice; everyone is professional and happy to teach. With time, i should catch up and hold my own.

Well, that’s that. ROM is in three days, passing keys to contractor(he’s helping with the defects submission) and i’m going to a island somewhere for my co. retreat in nov! yay! (note: i thank God it isn’t bintan. or batam.) Then again, i’m happy to even get to CROSS CUSTOMS – the furthest i’ve been for my previous co. was jurong island (yes, this joke has been repeated too many times).

And Jiahui, yes i looked cute when i was kid. and yes it’s rather odd i don’t look AS adorable now – THANKS AH. 🙂

I must quote a friend, who told me before i left my prev co., “You really know how to make your life exciting huh? New job, new status, new house – all within a week!”

Yes, i really am making my life exciting huh.

Leave a comment